top of page

Subscribe and never miss a recipe

Thanks for submitting!

Steamed Kale & Basil with Lemon


I eat kale almost every single day and this is one of my favorite ways to prepare it. It only takes minutes to prepare and it is absolutely delicious. The thing I love most about steaming kale is that you can make as much or as little as you want. This recipe is simple kale, basil, lemon juice and salt. This method and recipe is great for all leafy greens.


Cook Time 5-7 Minutes

This recipe usually makes enough for 1-2


All you need is:


1 bunch of kale chopped - you can remove the stems but I always chop them and cook them


1 finely minced garlic clove


1 handful of fresh basil


1 tbs of extra virgin olive oil


half a lemon


sea salt to taste


Preparation:

I always soak, drain and rinse my leafy greens before cooking them. Once I have done my final rinse I place them into the pot or skillet that I am using. The extra water on them creates more than enough steam to cook them thoroughly.

First place a large skillet or pot over medium heat and add in the oil and garlic.

Next add your freshly rinsed kale and basil and cover with a lid for 5-7 minutes or until your desired tenderness is achieved.

Remove the lid and toss the kale.

Next squeeze on your desired amount of lemon juice and salt to taste. That is it!

IMG_8077.jpg

Hey I'm Shantelle!

 

I'm so glad you found my website. Here you'll find super easy, affordable plant based vegan recipes that I love to make everyday for my family and friends. 

Read more

Popular Recipes

Shop my ebooks

bottom of page