top of page

Subscribe and never miss a recipe

Thanks for submitting!

Sweet & Spicy Collard Greens


As a southern girl (born and raised in ATL) collard greens hold a special place in my belly. I can proudly eat an entire pot of them by myself, especially when they are cooked just right. I like them to taste slow cooked with a little heat and and a little sweetness. Over the years I have perfected my own recipe. My secret is using dried chipotle peppers. The smokey flavor is very reminiscent of smoked eat which is a staple in southern style collard greens.

WATCH ME COOK THIS RECIPE ON MY INSTAGRAM PAGE HERE

Cook Time: 45 Minutes

Ingredients:

1 large leek chopped and cleaned

1 red bell pepper sliced

1 yellow bell pepper sliced

1 medium sized red onion sliced

4 bunches of collards chopped and cleaned

2 dried whole chipotle peppers

1/2 cup of veggies stock

1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil plus more for drizzling

1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes

1/8 cup of maple syrup (or to taste)

sea salt to taste

Preparation:

Place a large pot over medium heat and add in the extra virgin olive oil, red and yellow bell peppers, leeks and onion. Cook for about 4 to 5 minutes while stirring occasionally. Next add in the dried chipotle peppers, red pepper flakes and collards. Add the veggies stock and stir occasionally for about 3-4 minutes. Drizzle on a little more extra virgin olive oil and cover with a lid. Lower heat to a simmering boil and cook for an additional 15 minutes while stirring occasionally. Now stir in your desired amount of maple syrup and sea salt to taste. Cover with a lid and let simmer for an additional 5 minutes before stirring. I typically leave the chipotle peppers inside so they can continue to add flavor but you can pick them out before stirring.

IMG_8077.jpg

Hey I'm Shantelle!

 

I'm so glad you found my website. Here you'll find super easy, affordable plant based vegan recipes that I love to make everyday for my family and friends. 

Read more

Popular Recipes

Shop my ebooks

bottom of page