top of page

Subscribe and never miss a recipe

Thanks for submitting!

7 Ingredient Dark Chocolate Turtle Bars

This super easy and delicious vegan candy bar version of the classic Chocolate Covered Turtles is sure to become a new favorite.

Easy Vegan Candy Bars

One of the things I loved most about my pre-vegan diet days was candy bars. Especially candy bars that had gooey caramel and nuts. I loved Twix bars, 3 Musketeers, 3000 Grand Bars, Almond Snickers and Chocolate Turtles to name a few. I wanted to create something that reminded me of my old favorites but I also wanted to have complete control over the ingredients..These vegan dark chocolate turtle bars have only 7 ingredients and they were AMAZING. I opted for mini size bars but you can customize them and make them whatever size you like.

 

What you need

  • 2 cups of dark chocolate chips - I love the Trader Joe's dark chocolate chips

  • 2 cups of medjool dates pitted - The big soft and mushy ones are the best.

  • 1/2 cup of almond butter - Use a super creamy almond butter in this recipe.

  • 1 cup of whole raw almonds

  • Large flaked sea salt

  • 1 tsp of coconut oil

  • A loaf size baking pan

  • A sheet pan or tray to place the bars on after you dip them into the chocolate

  • Vanilla extract

  • wax paper to line your loaf pan and a tray

  • A food processor

These ingredients are staples in my home. I got everything except the Maldon flaked sea from Trader Joe's!


How to make dark chocolate turtle bars


  1. First line a loaf size baking dish with the wax paper.. You can use scissors to cut it into the perfect size.

  2. Add the dates into a food processor and pulse until they are broken down.

  3. Next add in the almond butter and vanilla extract and pulse until combined and a ball of dough forms.

  4. Press the mixture firmly into the lined loaf pan making sure it's in an even layer.

  5. Now firmly press the almonds into the mixture. Once the almonds are pressed into the mixture chill it in the fridge for about 30 minutes.

  6. After 30 minutes remove it from the fridge and cut into your desire size bars.

  7. Now melt the chocolate by placing it into a bowl and microwave for about 1 minute making sure to stop and stir it after 30 seconds.

  8. Once the chocolate is melted stir in the coconut oil.

  9. Now dip each bar into the chocolate and make sure it is completely coated and immediately place onto a dish lined with wax paper and chill in the fridge for about 20 minutes until the chocolate has hardened.

 


IMG_8077.jpg

Hey I'm Shantelle!

 

I'm so glad you found my website. Here you'll find super easy, affordable plant based vegan recipes that I love to make everyday for my family and friends. 

Read more

Popular Recipes

Shop my ebooks

bottom of page