top of page

Subscribe and never miss a recipe

Thanks for submitting!

Perfectly Chewy Cream Cheese Birthday Cake Cookies!

Updated: Jul 19, 2021

These cookies are so incredibly delicious. They're completely gluten free and ridiculously easy to make.

Vegan Gluten Free Cream Cheese Birthday Cookies

I've been wanting to make birthday cake cookies for a while now. There's something about all those colorful sprinkles that make me feel like a carefree child instead of the overwhelmed and overworked adult that I actually am. I also wanted to experiment with some gluten free options and I'm glad that I did because I discovered that almond flour works perfectly when it comes to making chewy cookies.


What I love about theses cookies


I actually experimented with this recipe a few times because I wanted to find the right balance of sweetness. I discovered that adding cream cheese and less sugar than a typically cookie recipe helped tone down some of the sweetness from the sprinkles.


Some Supplies You'll Need to Make These Cookies


  • Sheet pan or Cookie Sheet - I use a large commercial size sheet pan so that I can make a lot of cookies at one time. You can also use 2 pans or just bake in batches.

  • Parchment Paper or a Silicone Baking Mat- This will prevent the cookies from sticking and burning.

  • Cooling Rack - A cooling rack is essential for making cookies, especially if you want them soft and chewy. It also prevents them from getting hard.

  • A Hand/Standing Mixer or Whisk - You can do them by hand with a whisk but using a mixer will ensure that the butter and sugar cream together nicely.

  • An Ice Cream Scoop - This will help you scoop out the exact amount each time so that every cookie is the same size.

  • A Spatula - It's always important to use a good sturdy spatula when you transfer your cookies from the cookie sheet to the cooling rack. I prefer to you a metal one when it comes to cookies

The key to making cookies super chewy


There are a few things that encourage your cookies to turn out soft and chewy. One super important thing to do is to chill the dough for at least an hour before baking. You can opt to bake them right away but this may cause the cookies to cook too fast and spread and become thin. The cream cheese also adds tang and chewy texture, but the real key to chewy cookies is to slightly under bake them and remove them from the oven before the bottoms get too brown. Then, you let them sit on the cookie sheet for 2 additional minutes before using a metal spatula to remove them from cookie sheet and placing them on the cooling rack.

 

The dough looks like a party in a bowl.


Just 14 minutes in the oven and you'll have super chewy cookies.





IMG_8077.jpg

Hey I'm Shantelle!

 

I'm so glad you found my website. Here you'll find super easy, affordable plant based vegan recipes that I love to make everyday for my family and friends. 

Read more

Popular Recipes

Shop my ebooks

bottom of page