top of page

Subscribe and never miss a recipe

Thanks for submitting!

Stuffed Bell Peppers

Updated: Nov 7, 2020


Nothing makes me feel more "Adult" than eating stuffed peppers. I don't know what it is about them but every time I make them I feel like a grow woman that really has herself together The good thing about them is that you can stuff them with just about anything you have left over in your fridge. This time I used rice, mushrooms and spinach. They came out delicious.


I got all of the ingredients from Trader Joe's. I love buying the frozen precooked rice because rice is the one thing that I'm actually pretty bad at making most of the time. It saves on time and is always cooked to perfection. It's one of my favorite staple items from Trader Joe's. You can see my list of Trader Joe's favorites and see what else is on the list.

 

Ingredients


  • 4 bell peppers (I used 2 red and 2 green bell peppers)

  • 1/2 red onion diced

  • 2 garlic cloves

  • 1 8oz package of mushrooms chopped

  • 4 cups of cooked rice (leftover rice is ideal)

  • 2 thyme sprigs

  • 1 package of fresh spinach

  • 3-4 tbs of extra virgin olive oil

  • Salt and pepper to taste

  • 1/4 cup of panko bread crumbs

Preparation


  1. Preheat oven to 350*

  2. Slice off the tops of each bell pepper. You can trim off a little of the bottoms off each pepper to help them stand up and prevent them from rolling around if necessary.

  3. Dice the top of the peppers to use in your filling.

  4. Place a large skillet over medium heat and carefully add in the extra virgin olive oil.

  5. Add in the onions, diced peppers, garlic, thyme sprigs and mushrooms.

  6. Cook for 7-8 minutes.

  7. Next add in the 4 cups of cooked rice and spinach.

  8. Add salt and pepper to taste.

  9. Remove the thyme sprigs.

  10. Add the filling into each bell pepper and place into an oven safe dish.

  11. Sprinkle on the panko bread crumbs and drizzle with oil.

  12. Cook for about 30 minutes.

  13. Enjoy

 

 

Think you'll try this recipe? If you do, leave a comment below or snap a pic and tag me on Instagram and on Facebook and let me know what you think. I love seeing your recreations of my recipes.

IMG_8077.jpg

Hey I'm Shantelle!

 

I'm so glad you found my website. Here you'll find super easy, affordable plant based vegan recipes that I love to make everyday for my family and friends. 

Read more

Popular Recipes

Shop my ebooks

bottom of page