top of page

Subscribe and never miss a recipe

Thanks for submitting!

Jackfruit Tacos with Avocado Pico


If there is one thing that has certified that God is in fact a vegan it is the versatility of jackfruit. I'm just saying...I still find myself yelling "How Sway?" every time I take a bite of a delicious jackfruit creation because there is absolutely nothing better than a delicious jackfruit taco or BBQ slider.


If you're not familiar with jackfruit or if you find them intimidating, you'll find this recipe pleasantly easy to prepare and delicious. They are typically sold in Asian and International supermarkets like Super H (which is where I buy mine)There are several ways that you can buy jackfruit. Whole, which even I find a bit scary and intimidating to work with. Buying it whole means that you will have to cut it, pull out the seeds (which can be a long sticky process) and separate the pieces of fruit, clean it and squeeze out the excess moisture before using it. You may also see it canned in syrup or brine. However If you're lucky you will find it canned "in WATER." This just happens to be my favorite way to buy it. My sister Tia put me on to it and I have been hooked ever since. The reason I love buying it canned in water is because it takes so much work out of the preparation. Just strain it, rinse it, squeeze out the excess liquid, then pull apart the pieces and cook. Just make sure that you purchase the jackfruit canned in "WATER" and not "In syrup or brine." Now that we got that out of the way, on to the recipe.........


Cook Time: 30 Minutes

Makes 3-4 Tacos

Ingredients

1 can of jackfruit in water - drained, rinsed with the excess water removed. (Just wrap the mixture in a clean kitchen towel and squeeze, squeeze, squeeze.

1 tsp of chili powder

1/2 tsp of ground chipotle chili powder

1 tsp of garlic powder

1 tsp of onion powder

1/4 tsp of cumin

pinch of cayenne pepper

sea salt to taste

1 tsp of liquid smoke

3 tbs of extra virgin olive oil

The Avocado Pico de Gallo

1/2 an avocado diced

1 cup of diced tomatoes

1/4 cup of diced onion

1 small handful of cilantro chopped

1 tbs of lime juice

1 tbs of extra virgin olive oil

sea salt to taste

Preparation:


First make the avocado pico de gallo by adding the chopped tomato, avocado, onion, cilantro, lime juice and extra virgin olive oil. Mix well and add salt and pepper to taste. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until time to use.


The first thing you need to do is strain, rinse and drain your jackfruit. Once you have done that you will need to squeeze any excess water from the jackfruit. I usually just wrap it in a kitchen towel or cheese cloth and squeeze as tightly as possible. This will remove most of the water.


Next you will begin to pull apart each of the segments. You will notice that the jackfruit will begin to come apart and looks more like chicken (so weird, but great). Now place the jackfruit into a bowl and add in the seasonings and liquid smoke. Mix well and set aside.


Place a large skillet over medium heat and add in the extra virgin olive oil. Now add the jackfruit and cook for about 15-20 minutes allowing the jackfruit to cook evenly on all sides. Add sale to taste and make yourself some tacos!


I love this brand....If you're having trouble finding jackfruit canned in water make sure you check your local international stores. If you still can't find it try checking online.

This is what it looks like right out of the can. I just give it a quick rinse and strain.

This is what it looks like once I removed all of the excess water by squeezing it in a clean kitchen towel.

Now just pull the pieces apart and add all of the classic taco seasonings.

All ready to cook!!

Looks like chicken, right?

I love this avocado pico! I can just eat it with a spoon.

IMG_8077.jpg

Hey I'm Shantelle!

 

I'm so glad you found my website. Here you'll find super easy, affordable plant based vegan recipes that I love to make everyday for my family and friends. 

Read more

Popular Recipes

Shop my ebooks

bottom of page