top of page

Subscribe and never miss a recipe

Thanks for submitting!

Fried Avocado Fresh Rolls

Updated: Jul 15, 2021


Every now and then I think of a recipe that completely blows my mind. Last summer I became completely obsessed with fresh rolls. They typically include rice noodles, herbs, carrots, lettuce and a protein. I like to play around with them and add new things and fried avocado has got to be my new favorite:


Whenever you make fresh rolls preparation is key. I like to cook my rice noodles first so that they're ready to go. and pre slice all of my veggies. Whenever I use fry things I always use a wet a batter and dry batter. The wet batter acts like a binder for the dry batter. You will also need a large plate and a large bowl filled with warm water to soften the rice paper sheets.

 

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe but firm avocado. You don't want a super soft mushy one. It needs to be firm.

  • About 8 rice paper sheets. You can find them in the Asian section of most markets

  • 1 package of thin rice noodles (rice vermicelli) cooked according to the package instructions, drained and set aside.

  • Shredded lettuce

  • Fresh Thai basil and mint - regular basil you can use fresh cilantro, scallions.

  • sliced red bell peppers

  • Hoisin sauce for dipping - you can also find this in the Asian section of most grocery stores.


Wet batter

  • 1/2 cup of all purpose flour

  • 1 cup of water

  • 1 tbs of sriracha sauce

  • 1 tsp of. onion powder

  • 1/2 tsp of garlic powder

  • 1/2 tsp of salt

Dry batter

  • 1 cup of panko bread crumbs

  • 1 tsp of garlic powder

  • 1/2 tsp of onion powder

  • a pinch of red pepper flakes

  • pinch of salt

Preparation

  1. In a shallow bowl combine all of the dry batter ingredients. Mix well and set aside.

  2. Mix the wet batter ingredients by adding all of the ingredients into a bowl and mix well.

  3. Now carefully slice the avocado into about 8 slices.

  4. Place each slice into the wet batter making sure each slice is completely covered.

  5. Then completely cover each one with the Panko bread crumb mixture and set aside.

  6. Place a skillet over medium heat and add in enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan.

  7. Once the oil is hot add the avocado and cook for about 1 minute on each side until they are crispy and golden.

  8. Sprinkle on salt to taste.

  9. Once you're done you can begin making your fresh rolls by quickly dipping a sheet of rice paper into the bowl of warm water. Do not let it soak. The sheet should still feel firm Once you lay it down on a plate or board it will soften drastically in just a few seconds. If you soak them too long they will become fragile and rip.

  10. Once they're on the plate immediately fill them with your choice of fillings making sure not to over stuff them.

  11. Then you will carefully roll the rice sheet up like a burrito.

Tip: If you don't get them perfect just keep trying. I like to add the lettuce first then the noodles. Doing it this way helps keep the ingredients in place.

 

What you need for the recipe:


 

Think you'll try this recipe? If you do, leave a comment below or snap a pic and tag me on Instagram and on Facebook and let me know what you think. I love seeing your recreations of my recipes.



Comentarios


IMG_8077.jpg

Hey I'm Shantelle!

 

I'm so glad you found my website. Here you'll find super easy, affordable plant based vegan recipes that I love to make everyday for my family and friends. 

Read more

Popular Recipes

Shop my ebooks

bottom of page